The Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award

The Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award is named in honor of Dr. Korsmeyer, who was the first recipient of the Award in 1998 and who passed away in March 2005. The annual Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of ASCI members in advancing knowledge in a specific field and in mentoring future generations of life science researchers. The Award recipient receives an unrestricted $20,000 grant from the Society and presents the Award Lecture at the Society's annual meeting.

The 2014 Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award

Beth Levine
Photo credit: Brian Coats for UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Beth Levine, M.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, professor, and director of the Center for Autophagy Research at UT Southwestern Medical Center (UTSW), is the recipient of the 2014 American Society for Clinical Investigation’s Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award. The award recognizes Dr. Levine’s fundamental contributions to our understanding of autophagy — literally, “self-eating” — a housecleaning process in which cells destroy damaged proteins and organelles.

Read more

Award recipients

2014Beth Levine
 In recognition of fundamental contributions to our understanding of autophagy. More information
2013Bruce Beutler
 In recognition of his contributions to the field of innate immunity. More information
2012William G. Kaelin, Jr., and Gregg L. Semenza
 In recognition of their contributions to the molecular understanding of cellular oxygen sensing and cellular adaptation to hypoxia. More information
2011Brian J. Druker and Charles L. Sawyers
 In recognition of their contributions to the development of novel therapeutics in the treatment of leukemia and other forms of cancer. More information
2010Andrew R. Marks
 In recognition of his discoveries that rapamycin inhibits coronary artery stent restenosis, and the role of leaky ryanodine receptor/calcium release channels in heart failure, cardiac arrhythmias and muscular dystrophy. More information
2009Mitchell A. Lazar
 For his outstanding contributions to our understanding of the transcriptional regulation of metabolism. More information
2008Gerald I. Shulman
 For his contributions to furthering our understanding of the mechanisms underlying the pathogenesis of type 2 diabetes. More information
2007D. Gary Gilliland
 For his contributions to the understanding of the genetic basis of human hematological malignancies. More information
2006Shaun R. Coughlin
 For his outstanding contributions in the field of signal transduction via thrombin receptors. More information
2005Francis Collins
 For his pioneering efforts in the development of the entire field of human genome research. More information
2004David Ginsburg
 For his contributions to the understanding of the molecular basis of physiologic and pathologic thrombosis and hemostasis. More information
2003Craig B. Thompson
 For his discovery of the critical role costimulatory receptors play in regulating immune responses. More information
2002Ronald DePinho
 For fundamental discoveries in cancer research, aging, and chronic degenerative disease. More information
2001Laurie Glimcher
 For seminal contributions to our understanding of the transcriptional regulation of lymphocyte subset differentiation.
2000Christine Seidman
 For employing molecular genetic approaches in defining the etiology of inherited human disorders and genetic engineering to produce murine models of human disease, with particular emphasis on heart disease.
 Finalists: Jonathan S. Stamler, for elucidating the fundamental role of redox systems in the control of complex physiological responses, using NO-based modification of proteins-in particular S-nitrosylation. Mark Keating, for focusing on the molecular genetics of cardiovascular disease, particularly cardiac arrhythmias, cardiomyopathy and obstructive vascular disease.
1999Richard D. Klausner
 For the discovery of key mechanisms that regulate metal metabolism and intracellular trafficking. More information
 Finalists: Michael J. Welsh, for discoveries regarding the molecular and cellular pathogenesis of cystic fibrosis. David Clapham, for discoveries regarding the regulation of membrane ion channels, and the physiologic consequences of intracellular calcium signals.
1998Stanley J. Korsmeyer
 For the identification of key genetic mechanisms that govern cell death and survival. More information
 Finalists: Peter Agre, for discoveries regarding the roles of water channels in cell membranes. Arthur Weiss, for discoveries of key signalling pathways in T lymphocytes.